John Cassavetes' SHADOWS, 1959

To shoot a project on the theme like shadows, you need of course, light… ideally direct light… like sunlight on a clear day. My plan was to shoot the Shadows outdoors, relying the hard light qualities of the direct sunlight to create the shadows. Unfortunately, Maryland hasn’t had much of that kind of light lately… plus, it’s been rainy and heavily overcast.

The soft light of an overcast day does still produce shadows, but shadows that are far less distinct, and disappear rapidly as object to background distance increases. The shadows from objects are therefore, very short or non-existent. I thought about using time-lapse photography to get the shadows moving and more visible but, as I looked out my window yesterday (rainy and overcast again), the shadows were extremely soft and without much source direction. Even time-lapse wouldn’t do much to make the shadows more noticeable.

So far I’ve only shot about 2 minutes for the project.  My goal is to shoot three 50′ rolls of Super 8, which at 24fps totals 7.5 minutes. As I wait for the skies to clear, I going to start my next project: Time-lapse. This is going to be a unique project, in that I plan to do a mix of traditional time lapse and long frame exposures using a digital camera to calculate my exposures. Not all film cameras can do the longer frame exposures and, as far as I know, video cameras can’t do it at all… at least not as single frames in the form of a motion clip. Please visit the post about the project to get more details: Filmmaking101_Project: Time-lapse

HARD LIGHT

SOFT LIGHT

